Logo above and beyond usa Above & beyond


Descubre lo que está pasando en el mundo de Above & Beyond Connections

Virginia, Stanford Take Home NCAA Tennis Titles
Virginia, Stanford Take Home NCAA Tennis Titles

Virginia, Stanford Take Home NCAA Tennis Titles


For the men, it was no surprise as the top-seeded Virginia team (30-4) won its second straight NCAA title with a relatively straightforward 4-1 victory over No. 11 Oklahoma (20-11). From the start of the match, which was delayed by an hour and ultimately played indoors at the Michael D. Case Tennis Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma, UVA players were firing on all cylinders.

After securing the doubles point, the Cavaliers quickly jumped to a 3-0 lead as Thai-Son Kwiatkowski—who earned the Outstanding Player of the Tournament honor— rallied to a 6-4, 6-4 victory over Spencer Papa.

Ultimately, the battle was won on court 6, as Henrik Wiersholm battled back from down two breaks in his second set to force a tiebreaker, which he won comfortably (7-2) to clinch the match.
Virginia and Oklahoma met last year in the NCAA final with the Cavaliers winning the program’s second NCAA title with a 4-1 victory over the Sooners in Waco, Texas. Virginia won its first championship in 2013 to give the Cavaliers three titles in four years.

For the ladies, it was a quite another story as No. 15 Stanford (19-5) turned a 3-1 deficit against No. 12 Oklahoma State (29-4) into a 4-3 victory. After recovering from the brink, the 19-time national champions Stanford (18 NCAA, 1 AIAW) were able to notch yet another trophy; though this time they did it as underdogs.

For the Lady Cardinals, this was the perfect place to exalt revenge on the NCAA committee that had them ranked as the 15th seed entering the postseason despite winning the Pac-12 and knocking off the likes of Florida and Cal in the regular season. And they did just that. Stanford simply ripped through a postseason gauntlet of high seeds in No. 2 Florida, No. 10 Michigan, No. 6 Vanderbilt and finally No. 12 Oklahoma State.

Stanford now owns a 142-18 all-time record in the postseason since the NCAA Tournament went to its present format in 1982.